Bennett's best for'˜The History Boys'

Playwright Alan Bennett has sent his best wishes to the cast of '˜The History Boys' who are busy preparing to bring one of his best known works to Halifax Playhouse this month.

Saturday, 2nd April 2016, 9:00 am

The cast includes several members of Playhouse Stage Training who are being directed by Giselle Herbert.

She said: “We were thrilled and delighted to have received a postcard from Alan Bennett sending his best wishes for a successful run.”

The cast includes Patrick Hibbin, James Claxton, Hannah Williams, Steve Tetlow, Paige Fletcher and Chris Main.

Also taking part are Alex Watkins, Martin Walsh, Todd Wilson, Krystian Wolny, Ibraaheem Ahmed, Luke Lortie and Joe Sutcliffe.

‘The History Boys’ was given its first performance at the Royal National Theatre in May 2004 and it opened on Broadway in April 2006. The play won many awards including the 2005 Laurence Olivier Award for best new play and a Tony Award in 2006, also for best new play.

It was revived twice at Wyndhams Theatre, has had four national British tours and was made into a successful film in 2006 starring Richard Griffiths, James Corden and Frances de la Tour.

The play is set in the 1980s and follows a group of bright, funny and opinionated sixth formers as they sit their entrance exams for Oxford and Cambridge.

The school staff include a young, shrewd supply teacher, a headmaster obsessed with results and a history teacher who thinks he’s a fool.

The play, which contains strong language, will be Halifax Playhouse from Tuesday April 12 to Saturday April 16 at 7.30pm with a Saturday matinee at 2.30pm. Tel: 01422 365998.