Candidates battle for seats on local council

Voters will go to the polls in the Calderdale Council elections on May 3
Voters will go to the polls in the Calderdale Council elections on May 3
Share this article

VOTERS will go to the polls next week to elect their local council representatives.

A total of 61 candidates are in the running for the 17 seats which are up for grabs at the Calderdale Council elections on Thursday, May 3.

Three seats will be contested in the upper Calder Valley.

Ian Cooper (Conservative) is aiming to defend his Todmorden ward seat.

He faces competition from Liberal Democrat candidate Olwen Jennings, Labour’s Steve Sweeney, John Nesbitt, of the Green Party, and David Jones, representing the British People’s Party.

Mr Jones said, if elected, he would take his seat as an independent councillor.

The Calder ward seat, which covers Hebden Bridge and part of Todmorden, will be contested by Janet Battye (Lib Dem), Gail Lund (Con), Susan Press (Labour) and Kate Sweeny (Green).

There will be a three-way battle in the Luddenden Foot ward between Christine Bampton-Smith (Lib Dem), Gillian Smith-Moorhouse (Con) and Simon Young (Labour).

Polling stations will be open on May 3 from 7am until 10pm for people to cast their votes.

Labour and Conservative candidates are standing in every ward in Calderdale.

The Lib Dems are represented in all except Rastrick, where Rob Bailey is standing for “Trade Unions and Socialists Against Cuts”.

The Green Party has candidates in six wards in the borough.