The battle for your town hall

AS election day draws near, the candidates contesting seats in the upper Calder Valley’s town and parish council’s have been announced.

Elections will be held in five of the six wards of Hebden Royd Town Council, with 18 seats up for grabs.

In Birchcliffe, Hebden Bridge, John Boje Frederiksen (Liberal Democrat), Hywel Morgan (Lib Dem), Steve Sweeney (Labour), Emma Louise Tsoneva (Labour) and Dave Young (Labour) will contest the three seats.

In Caldene, Mytholmroyd, Christine Irene Bampton-Smith ((Lib Dem), Euan James Bayliss (Lib Dem), Karl Antony Boggis (Lib Dem), Belinda Marie Jones (Independent) and Matthew James Talbot (Labour) will contest the three seats.

In Cragg Vale, John Christopher Beacroft-Mitchell (Lib Dem), Christine Angela Davenport (Lib Dem), Lesley Anne Sleigh (Labour) and Anthony Scott Trickett (Lib Dem) will contest the three seats.

In Fairfield, Hebden Royd, Paul Harvey Cooper (Lib Dem), Catherine Groves (Independent), Lesley Anne Jones (Independent), Susan Mary Press (Labour), Richard Scorer (Labour), Nigel James Yorke (Labour) and Mary Theresa Young (Lib Dem) will contest the three seats.

In West End, Hebden Bridge, Wesley James Downs (Labour), James Edward Fearon (Labour), Nader Fekri (Lib Dem), Mari Greenfield (Lib Dem), Michael Stephen Smith (Lib Dem) and Jonathan Charles Timbers (Labour) will contest the three seats.

In Mytholmroyd’s White Lee ward the three nominations were returned unopposed. The three candidates are James Timothy Allison, James Baker (Lib Dem) and Tony Hodgins (Lib Dem).

Elections will be held in all six of Todmorden Town Council’s wards, with candidates battling for 18 seats.

In Walsden, Christine Bulley (Lib Dem), Ian Vincent Davey (Lib Dem), Andrew John Hartley, Rosemary Neat (Labour) and Richard White (Lib Dem) will contest the three seats.

In the Todmorden Central Ward, Michael John Goldthorpe (Lib Dem), Abid Hussain (Lib Dem), John Alan Lockhart (Labour), Matt Parker, Julie Louise Stansfield, Diana Helen Tremayne (Labour) and Carolann Trustlove-Smith (Lib Dem) will contest the three seats.

In Cornholme, Mo Brown (Labour), Anne James (Lib Dem), Penny Langham (Labour), Joe Rez (Lib Dem) and David Tattersall (Labour) will contest the three seats.

In the Todmorden Langfield ward, Mark Andrew Catterall (Labour), Rob Goldthorpe (Lib Dem), Ruth Goldthorpe (Lib Dem), Michael David St. George Kirke and David William O’Neill (Independent) will contest the two seats.

In the Todmorden Stansfield ward, Jayne Booth (Labour), Debbie Eaton (Lib Dem), Peter Ehrhardt (Labour), Michael Andrew Gill (Lib Dem), Jonathan David Greenwood (Lib Dem), Christian Michael Jackson (National Front) and David Jones (BPP) will contest the three seats.

In the Todmorden Stoodley ward, Christopher Michael Baksa (Lib Dem), Ian Cooper, Brian Hewson (Lib Dem), Margareta Holmstedt (Lib Dem), Alan Patrick McDonald (Green), Frank Rostron McManus (Labour), John Oldham (Labour), Denis David Skelton (Labour) and Philip Anthony Walters (Lib Dem) will contest the four seats.

There will be no elections in the rural parish councils, with not enough nominations in Blackshaw (six candidates for seven seats), Heptonstall (eight candidates for nine seats) and Wadsworth (seven candidates for nine seats). It is expected that the vacancies will be filled at a later date by council co-option.

Erringden’s five nominations are returned unopposed. They are Frances Mary Blackburn, Fiona Rachel Gibbon, Roger Melville Greenwood, Veronica Stuttard and Allen Keith Wright.

The candidates in Blackshaw are Patricia Anne Beechill, Tim Cole, Stephen Richard Hoyle, Carol King, Chris Lund and Dorothy Sutcliffe.

In Heptonstall the candidates are Adrian Baldwin, Jean Crowther, John Richard Dunford, Michael Vincent Edwards, Mary Livesey, Keith Roberts, John Scarborough and Brian Stott.

The Wadsworth candidates are David Bell, John Butterworth, Alan Geoffrey Fowler, Geoff Hughes, John Lynch, Mavis RIng and Valerie Wade.

Elections takes place on May 5.

l WHAT would you like to see your town or parish councils do after the election?

Email us your views to or