Five battle it out in hills challenge

editorial image

The Noon Stone Fell Race, organised by Todmorden Harriers, attracted almost 250 runners.

Showers and heavy going underfoot added to the challenge of the nine-mile course which has over 2,300 feet of ascent and descent.

A close race soon developed with five runners battling for much of the distance, with the lead changing hands several times. Tom Addison of Lakeland club Helm Hill eventually winning in a time of 1:12:05, just 15 seconds ahead of Ben Mounsey of Calder Valley. Simon Harding of Macclesfield Harriers finished third.

Calder Valley won the team prize with Alex Whittem finishing fourth and Gavin Mulholland fifth.

First Todmorden runner was Sean Carey in eighth place in his first attempt at the distance. Ben Crowther was next in 47th, just ahead of Shaun Pickard in 51st.

The ladies race was won in a time of 1:25:40 by Helen Berry of Holmfirth with Kath Brierley first Todmorden lady in sixth, and first v40, having overhauled Sarah Warburton in the final mile. Together with Lucy Burnett, in her first race for the club, they won the ladies team prize.

Tod Results: 8 Sean Carey 1.17.53; 47 Ben Crowther 1.28.28; 51 Shaun Pickard 1.29.22; 69 Clive Greatorex 1.32.46; 75 Ozzy Kershaw 1.33.29; 111 Dan Taylor 1.38.48; 115 Kath Brierley 1.39.42; 120 Sarah Warburton 1.40.10; 143 Andy Glyde 1.44.19; 153 Lucy Burnett 1.45.21; 214 Sue Roberts 1.57.22.

On Sunday, 21 Harriers turned out for a memorial race in Littleborough for former Todmorden runners John McDonagh and Brian Hargreaves, and Clayton le Moors’ Lynn Hindle, who all died last year.

Originally planned as a 5km road race, roadworks meant a course switch to a longer and tougher trail race.

Rob Jackson of Horwich RMI won in a time of 29:37, with former Todmorden runner Sue Becconsall now of Bingley Harriers finishing first lady in 33:07 and eighth overall.

Dwane Dixon and Martin Stork led the way for Todmorden finishing in second and fourth places respectively, with Dave Collins completing the course in 10th place.

Sarah Glyde finished third lady, just ahead of Lucy Hobbs in fourth with Mel Siddall edging out Hatty Nylon for eighth lady.

Tod Results: 2 Dwane Dixon 30.31; 4 Martin Stork 31.03; 10 Dave Collins 33.31; 15 Simon Galloway 35.03; 17 Richard Butterwick 35.21; 18 Kevin Booth 35.23; 24 Keith Parkinson 37.38; 26 Phil Cook 38.29; 27 Sarah Glyde 38.36; 28 Lucy Hobbs 38.55; 34 Paul Brannigan 39.50; 35 Mel Siddall 40:00; 36 Hatty Nylan 40.05; 40 Kevin Coughlan 41.35; 46 Nigel Hanson 42.49; 49 Peter Ehrhardt 43.24; 52 Helen Hodgkinson 43.54; 53 Andrea Marshall 44.26; 63 Dave O’Neil 48.29; 72 Barry Chapman 50.17; 73 Myra Wells 50.42.