Harriers celebrate their 2011 season

Todmorden Harriers award winners with their trophies
Todmorden Harriers award winners with their trophies

TODMORDEN Harriers celebrated their running achievements during 2011 at the annual presentation evening held at Todmorden Cricket Club, on Saturday.

The year had been the club’s most successful with the Ladies team and Lauren Jeska’s individual gold medal winning performances in the English Fell Championships.

The ladies team had also won bronze medals in the British Fell Championships.

Prior to the review of the year and awards, Phil Hodgson proposed a toast to former Todmorden Harrier Alan Ainsworth who had died during the year.

Club chairman Mandy Goth presented the awards to the winners of the club competitions.

Jon Wright was awarded the men’s Fell Champion Trophy, with Sarah May winning the ladies Fell Champion Trophy.

Dwaine Dixon and Elise Milnes were the first winners of the club’s new Trail Championship.

Robin Tuddenham was crowned club Road Champion, with Sarah Glyde winning the ladies Road Trophy for the first time.

The Grand Prix Champion, awarded for performance on road and fell, also went to Robin Tuddenham.

John Lloyd was crowned Club Champion, a trophy that reflects all round ability on the road and fells across a range of short, medium and long distances.

On a less athletic front, John was also awarded the “Toilet Seat” trophy which is awarded to the Harrier who has the most running related mishaps during the year.

Sean Carey was awarded the most improved runner of the year award to reflect the effort and progress he has made this year, with several senior race wins under his belt.

Club secretary Derek Donohue then stepped in to make the final award of the evening, that of Clubman of the Year. After a vote on the evening it was presented to ladies team captain Kath Brierley to reflect the successes of the ladies team.