Malcolm takes over as Todmorden CC president

editorial image

The new president of Todmorden Cricket Club is Malcolm Heywood, who has taken over from Ian Smith, who held the post for three years.

Mr Smith was praised at the club’s annual meeting by chairman Tony Gledhill, who said: “Nothing has been too much trouble for Ian and he has handled his role as president with great dignity and compassion.”

Thanking everyone concerned with the running of the club, Mr Gledhill said a drier summer had proved that “Centre Vale is one of the finest settings in the world to watch cricket.

“It also highlighted the amazing work done by our dedicated ground staff, who once again made the ground an absolute picture.”

Trophy winners were: batting, Nick Barker; bowling, Lee Pearson; quickest 50, Simon Newbitt; fielding, Andrew Sutcliffe; all-rounder, Stevie Barker.

l Club players are planning a clean-up at the club on Sunday from 10am.