Cricket - Simon is new chairman after Royd shake-up, Todmorden junior awards

editorial image

Simon Wheelwright, Dave Townsend and Tom Earle are set for new roles in a shake-up at Foster Halifax League club Mytholmroyd.

Paul Watson is standing down as chairman and will be replaced by their 2005 Parish Cup-winning skipper Simon Wheelwright, who is still a key player in the first team.

Former Blackley player Townsend, another early order batsman, is switching from first team captain to cricket manager with Earle leading the club’s main side.

The changes, which look sure to be rubber stamped at the club’s AGM in the new year, are designed to give Mytholmroyd new impetus.

The firsts again suffered at the hands of the weather more than most this summer but still finished a creditable fifth and the seconds were champions of the bottom division under Matthew Bower and Tom Russell.

However, Mytholmroyd haven’t run a third team for a couple of seasons and this year were without junior teams.

Broadening the player base and reintroducing junior sides, possibly by tapping into resources at Calder High School, is top of the agenda.

Mytholmroyd have thanked Watson for the sterling job he has done.

He has been on the committee for 25 years and has been secretary and chairman during this time. He will carry on as second team scorer and with his excellent work on the ground and buildings.

Watson believed it was time for a change and has offered Wheelwright his full backing.

Wheelwright will work closely with Townsend, whose role will include looking after all playing matters, assisting star batsman Earle in the build up to matches, plus selection, recruitment and training.

Earle has captained junior sides at the club to success and has inherit a team with talent and spirit.

The winners of the junior prizes at Todmorden Cricket Club’s recent presentation night were:

Under nines - Batting: Noah Priestley. Bowling: Jack Atherton. Fielding: Thomas Barker. Manager’s Player: Asan Khan

Under 11s - Batting: Noah Priestley. Bowling: Zain Lee. Manager’s Player: Max Dawson. Players’ Player: Sam Kelly.

Under 13s - Batting: Kai Abbas. Bowling: Hamza Bhatti. Players’ Player: Hamza Bhatti. Manager’s Player: James Firth

Under 15s - Batting: Benjemin Pearson. Bowling: Evie Priestley. Players’ Player : Tom Kelly. Manager’s Player: Tom Kelly.