Darts champions decided

Share this article

PAIRS and individual Todmorden Darts League knockout champions emerged after a good night’s competition at the Duke of York.

The pairs semi-finals saw Jack Hook notch a 180 maximum as he and partner B. Maguire edged past the experienced P. Chadwick and B. Sutcliffe 2-1, while D. Hargreaves and B. Speight were 2-0 victors over S. Irving and J. Irving in the other semi.

The final was a close result, with B. Speight notching the second 180 of the night, but the Hook/Maguire pairing took the title 2-1.

Speight had already shown some form in the pairs and began his A Division singles knockout bid in some style by beating B. Sutcliffe 2-0 in his semi-final. S. Lindsay had beaten E. Plane 2-0 in the other semi-final but Speight wans’t to be denied this time and won 2-0.

The B Division singles saw S. Van through the the final to play the winner of the S. Irvine/C. Dibb semi clash, which Irvine won 2-1.

Despite the final being his first game of the night, Van took the tile 2-1.

l THE draw for the Charity Knockout has been made as follows, with the first legs to be played on May 3 and the return on May 10.

Hare and Hounds B (Rope A) v Weavers; Glen View B v TWMSC; York Hotel A v British Legion; Royal George B v Hare and Hounds A; Cornholme Waggon v Royal George A; Shannon B v York Tigers; Rope and Anchor v Shannon A.