Tim and Barbara notch wins in record times

Calder Valley’s Tim Black and Barbara Lonsdale set new record times in winning at the Crow Hill Reverse Fell Race in Mytholmroyd.

Joe Washington made it a 1-2 for Calder in the men’s race while Nick Barber was the first of 24 Todmorden Harriers to finish in fourth place in a record 123-strong field.

The near-five mile long race has been run in reverse - with a steep start and down through Mytholmroyd’s Redacre Wood rather than up - since 2011 when Ali Mills took over. She raised £700 for Ovarian Cancer Action this year.

A fast start is required for those wanting to avoid the bottleneck at the kissing gate after only 100 yards.

David Bodin was off like a flash but took a wrong turn and was surprisingly followed by the leading locals .

Dave Collins of Todmorden took the right route and found himself unexpectedly leading.

There was an extra prize for the first man and woman to reach the trig point at the top of Crow Hill and Black, of Hebden Bridge, arrived first while Lindsey Brindle of Horwich was seconds in front of Haworth’s ‘Iron Lady’ Lonsdale.

Lonsdale was quicker on the descent, though, and won by 17 seconds in 37:36.

Black (31:02) beat Washington by almost a minute and Robert Paradise just beat Chris Standish for the final Valley team member prize.

Barber clocked 33:37 with Tod teammate Paul Brannigan sixth, 15 seconds behind.

A strong descent lifted Dan Taylor into 14th place, ahead of Peter Bowles in 15th. That was one of many battles between Tod clubmates. Richard Blakeley claimed the v70 prize in 73rd place.

Todmorden won the women’s team prize after Clare Harris finished fourth (first v50). Jackie Holden was eighth and Kirsty Pattern ninth.

Todmorden: 4 Nick Barber 33:37; 6 Paul Brannigan 33:52; 14 Dan Taylor 34:27; 15 Peter Bowles 34:31; 23 Robert Tyson 35:24; 24 Robin Tuddenham 35:34; 26 Trevor Davies 36:23; 29 Dave Collins 36:42; 40 Paul Alexander 39:26; 45 Andrew Bibby 40:43; 58 Clare Harris 43:02; 71 Keith Parkinson 44:23; 72 Jackie Holden 44:27; 73 Richard Blakeley 44:32; 75 David Leslie 45:04; 78 Richard Butterwick 45:44; 79 Richard Leonard 45:51; 80 Kirsty Patten 46:36; 82 Kevin Coughlan 47:22; 85 Andrea Marshall 48:22; 91 Peter Ehrhardt 50:41; 102 Natalie Yates 53:33; 110 Reg Czudek 57:11; 115 Dave O’Neill 58:55.