Ton from Tom as Mytholmroyd launch campaign with big win

Booth bowler Nigel Horsfall in his side's excellent opening day win over Thornton
Booth bowler Nigel Horsfall in his side's excellent opening day win over Thornton

Mytholmroyd host last year’s runners-up Blackley on Saturday having hit the ground running in the Foster’s Halifax League.

Royd registered a massive 267-run win at Bradshaw on the opening day, helped by top performances from Tom Earle, Steve Senior, Chris Overend and Chris White.

Bradshaw have lost arguably their best two players, Simon Collins and Wayne Cotton, and they were on the back foot from the start.

Earle hit 102 at the top of the order and he and opening partner Senior (59) gave the visitors a fine start.

Overend then hit 74 not out as Mytholmroyd’s total spiralled to 376 for eight.

White then took six for 43 to dismiss the hosts for 109.

Booth were also easy winners, beating visitors Thornton by nine wickets thanks to a 229-run opening stand between Chris Shannon (131) and Rob Laycock (95 no).

Another century-maker was Oxenhope’s Joe Ousey at home to Clayton.

Ousey (135), Tom Tetley (83 no) and 15-year-old Lewis Hopkinson (60) put Clayton’s bowlers to the sword, rattling up 370 for seven, and Adam Bailey and Liam Dyson took nine wickets between them as the visitors were rolled over for 119.

Promoted Luddenden Foot will hope to get off the mark in Division One at home to Outlane on Saturday, having lost by 66 runs at Northowram Hedge Top last weekend.

Keir Litjens’ 91 from 110 balls helped the Rams to a par score of 221 for nine, Mark Richardson bowling well up the hill for a well earned five-wicket haul.

That return was matched by Sam Gardner for the home side. Isaac Baldwin’s knock of 34 threatened to get the visitors close to their target before he fell to Gardner


Saturday - Premier Division: Mytholmroyd v Blackley (umpires R Howarth & P Womersley), Sowerby Bridge v Booth (John Wilson & D Bates), Sowerby v Southowram (K Hartley & M Rothwell), Thornton v Copley (J Doherty & A Mitchell), Triangle v Bradshaw (E Sykes & R Huck), Warley v Jer Lane (M Summerscales).

Division One: Clayton v Northowram (R Crossland & A Welch), Low Moor v Oxenhope (J Senior & P Butterfield), Luddenden Foot v Outlane (R Wilkinson & A Ford), Queensbury v SBCI (R Wade & A Rawnsley).

Division Two: Old Crossleyans v Denholme Clough (R Davies & P Gatehouse), Old Town v Cullingworth (R Taylor & B Kershaw), Shelf v Bridgeholme (G Priestley & B Sewell), Stainland v Stones (S Pullen & M Sheppherd), Wibsey Park v Greetland (P Mallinson & Jack Wilson).

Premier seconds: Blackley v Clayton (S Daveney), Booth v Sowerby Bridge (T Laycock), Copley v Thornton (S Booth), Jer Lane v Warley (S Wyatt), Northowram v Triangle (K Campbell), SBCI v Sowerby (M Reppion).

Division One seconds: Outlane v Wibsey Park (G Wright), Oxenhope v Low Moor (P Taylor), Southowram v Old Crossleyans (F Farrell), Stones v Mytholmroyd (D Redhead).

Division Two seconds: Bradshaw v Stainland (E Owens), Bridgeholme v Shelf (M Walker), Cullingworth v Old Town (L Smith), Denholme Clough v Queensbury (R Dennison), Greetland v Luddenden Foot (A Rushworth).